0

System Info: macOS Monterey Version 12.6. with an M1 Chip.

I'm using cardano-node 1.35.3 that is installed with the Daedalus Mainnet wallet by appending the following in my .zshrc file:

export PATH="/Applications/Daedalus Mainnet.app/Contents/MacOS:$PATH"

I followed this guide to run cardano-node: https://developers.cardano.org/docs/get-started/running-cardano/

I get the configuration files from here: https://book.world.dev.cardano.org/environments.html

As in the guide above, my directory structure looks like this:

$HOME/cardano/
├── db
├── alonzo-genesis.json
├── byron-genesis.json
├── config.json
├── shelley-genesis.json
└── topology.json
1 directory, 5 files

In this directory, I run the following command:

cardano-node run \
  --topology topology.json \
  --database-path db \
  --socket-path db/node.socket \
  --host-addr 127.0.0.1 \
  --port 1337 \
  --config config.json

When I use the configuration files for mainnet and the old testnet, the command works as expected and the node is syncing because I see output like this:

Chain extended, new tip: b4624d1ad9fa00eaf81b57fa0561f24593d11adca70b45ee967484c8d5c26efa at slot 27173

However, when using the configuration files for the preview and pre-production testnet, I get the following output/error which repeats itself and the node does not sync. How can I solve this?

[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TraceGovernorWakeup
[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TracePromoteColdPeers 50 0 (fromList [3.72.231.105:30002])
[student-:cardano.node.ConnectionManager:Info:68] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TrConnectionManagerCounters (ConnectionManagerCounters {fullDuplexConns = 0, duplexConns = 0, unidirectionalConns = 0, inboundConns = 0, outboundConns = 0})
[student-:cardano.node.ConnectionManager:Info:68] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TrConnectError (Just 127.0.0.1:3001) 3.72.231.105:30002 Network.Socket.connect: <socket: 29>: unsupported operation (Can't assign requested address)
[student-:cardano.node.ConnectionManager:Info:68] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TrConnectionManagerCounters (ConnectionManagerCounters {fullDuplexConns = 0, duplexConns = 0, unidirectionalConns = 0, inboundConns = 0, outboundConns = 0})
[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:06.10 UTC] TracePromoteColdFailed 50 0 3.72.231.105:30002 41.140901877674s Network.Socket.connect: <socket: 29>: unsupported operation (Can't assign requested address)
[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.81 UTC] TraceGovernorWakeup
[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.81 UTC] TracePublicRootsRequest 100 1
[student-:cardano.node.LedgerPeers:Info:50] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.81 UTC] [String "FetchingNewLedgerState",Number 0.0]
[student-:cardano.node.LedgerPeers:Info:50] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.82 UTC] [String "FallingBackToBootstrapPeers"]
[student-:cardano.node.LedgerPeers:Info:50] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.82 UTC] [String "UseLedgerAfter",Number 322000.0]
[student-:cardano.node.PublicRootPeers:Info:69] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.82 UTC] TracePublicRootRelayAccessPoint [RelayAccessDomain "preview-node.world.dev.cardano.org" 30002]
[student-:cardano.node.PublicRootPeers:Info:69] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.82 UTC] TracePublicRootRelayAccessPoint [RelayAccessDomain "preview-node.world.dev.cardano.org" 30002]
[student-:cardano.node.PublicRootPeers:Info:69] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.85 UTC] TracePublicRootResult "preview-node.world.dev.cardano.org" [(3.72.231.105,60)]
[student-:cardano.node.PeerSelection:Info:52] [2022-10-07 14:09:29.85 UTC] TracePublicRootsResults (fromList []) 1 2s

Full output here: https://gist.github.com/samuelpullely/60223a98066dd5f72c597a681021c2a3

Similar (unresolved) questions:

  1. Cardano-Node Preview Testnet PeerSelection Error (Ubuntu 22.04 Docker container)

  2. Running preview/preprod Cardano-node on windows (Windows)

It seems like this issue does not only appear on macOS.

1 Answer 1

2

When I copied and pasted text, I faced the similar problem. May be formatting matters. Try getting raw files directly from github like:

curl -O -J https://raw.githubusercontent.com/input-output-hk/cardano-world/master/docs/environments/preprod/alonzo-genesis.json

Change "/preprod/" to "/preview/" and "alonzo-genesis.json" to other names, to fit your needs.

Also in my case, I have to change host-addr to 0.0.0.0 like:

--host-addr 0.0.0.0 \

Lastly, make sure the database in db folder is NOT from the mainnet/testnet/different net. To be super-safe, just empty the db folder.

1
  • Thanks a lot, changing the host-addr worked Oct 7, 2022 at 15:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.