According to the roadmap Cardano has (or will have) five eras. Byron, Shelley, Goguen, Basho and Voltaire. What block height did Cardano change from one era to the next?

4 Answers 4


This is the best resource I've found online.

Era Boundaries



Byron (Genesis) (09/27/2017) - Epoch 1, Block 1?

Shelley (07/29/2020) - Epoch 208, Block 4490511

Goguen (if you consider Alonzo HFC the start of Goguen) (09/12/2021) - Epoch 290, Block 6236060

Basho and Voltaire are currently in development.

Important to note: the Cardano eras are rough pictures of where development is focused during that era, not hard dates. Parts of Shelley and Goguen are still being worked (decentralization parameters and smart contract optimizations, respectively). It is not clear cut whether something like the integrations of CIP 31, 32, and 33 should be considered part of Goguen or Basho. Also, project Catalyst is technically part of Voltaire and has been around for over a year at this point.

  • Is there a website you got the data from? I am asking so that I can look it up when the next era rolls out.
    – KryptoKing
    Commented Mar 6, 2022 at 22:07
  • No, tbh I just remembered 😅
    – zhekson
    Commented Aug 2, 2022 at 17:49
  • damn that's a good memory
    – KryptoKing
    Commented Aug 3, 2022 at 8:09

On mainnet:

  • Byron started at epoch 0.
  • Shelley started at epoch 208.

Hopefully someone else can fill in the rest.


You are looking for the /network/eras Blockfrost endpoint.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.